Compatibility with HSMM-Mesh/Broadband Hamnet v1.0.0

This evening I upgraded my Linksys WRT54GL router to the latest Broadband Hamnet release version 1.0.0.  After configuring the SSID and channel to match those used by my HSMM-Pi nodes, it joined the mesh and worked just as it did with HSMM-Mesh 0.4.3.  The Broadband Hamnet distribution does not have the secure plugin for OLSRD, so you will not be able to the secure feature present in HSMM-Pi when deployed alongside Broadband Hamnet nodes; the OLSRD secure plugin is a wonderful feature, but is probably not needed in most HSMM mesh deployments.

Please let me know if you find any incompatibilities between HSMM-Pi and Broadband Hamnet, and I’ll do my best to get them resolved quickly.

19 thoughts on “Compatibility with HSMM-Mesh/Broadband Hamnet v1.0.0

  1. Okay, I have another question! 🙂

    I should do an install tonight as long as UPS arrives this afternoon! As far as configuring your mesh 10. address, how does broadband-hamnet come up with these numbers? It is based somehow on the MAC address, randomness, etc ?? Just wondering if there is something that needs to be done here to ensure mesh compatibility when we plug in a new node?

    Also, are you planning to use the same ssid identifier, or are you trying not to make waves? I would think that the broadband-hamnet folks would be interested in extending the functionality of the mesh and not have a problem with it?

    Drew

    • Hi Drew,

      The HSMM-Pi project comes preconfigured with the SSID used by the original HSMM-Mesh project, which was HSMM-MESH. I suppose I could change that now that the HSMM-MESH project has been renamed to Broadband Hamnet. In any case, it’s super easy to configure the HSMM-Pi node to use a different SSID or WiFi channel through the Web interface. If you’re configuring a network that has a mixture of the two projects, then just make sure they’re all on the same SSID and channel and you should be set.

      As for the mesh IP addresses, I am not sure how the HSMM-MESH/Broadband Hamnet project comes up with the default IP address. The default subnet mask used by both HSMM-MESH and HSMM-Pi is 255.0.0.0. As long as you’re using 10.x.x.x IP address and there aren’t any duplicate IPs, then all of the mesh nodes should be able to communicate with each other.

      Thanks for the questions, and good luck!

      • As I understand it, Broadband-Hamnet/HSMM-MESH IP addresses are created from the last three hex groups of the MAC address for the router’s wireless interface. For example, one of my WRT-54GL’s MAC address is 00:22:6B:83:2B:BC. The assigned mesh IP address is 10.131.43.190 (83h=131d, 2Bh=43d, BEh=190d). I don’t recall if or where I may have read this, but it has been true for each one of the scores of routers I have flashed.

  2. That makes sense. I figured they must be deriving it in some fashion like that! I guess we will have to take a look at a few more nodes and make sure. Great information!

    Scott, do you think that you can work out something like that as well?

    I think the most important thing in these projects is to ensure compatibility and ease of use first (not everyone is ip/network savvy), and then to add great features. We need the basic stuff to just work out of the box if we expect it to be useful when we really need it!

    • Hi Drew,

      I took care of two of your suggestions this morning:

      • Add hyperlinks to the nodes listed on the Status page
      • Use a WiFi IP address derived from the WiFi adapter MAC address during initial setup

      These were pretty easy to take care of, especially with Gary Wong’s (W6GSW) concise explanation of how to derive the WiFi IP address. I have checked in the changes and they’ll show up the next time you install a node. Also, I committed a change last week to have the Apache web server listen on ports 80 and 8080; previously it listened on just port 80. So, the hyperlinks from the Broadband Hamnet status page that use port 8080 should work. The HSMM-Pi hyperlinks on the Status page use port 8080, too.

      The WiFi scanning request is a good one, but it might take some more time to implement. Thanks for the great suggestions!

  3. Wow. If I could get the companies I deal with daily to make changes and fixes to my apps as fast as you do my life would be SO much easier! Thanks! We will keep plugging away and see what else we can come up with!

  4. Okay so I just finally got around to installing. I set my pi up so so that it could talk to my v1.0.0 So far so go. I just need to get a few services going on my PI. No real problems to speak of. I will update as time goes on.

  5. I really didn’t see much good in the secure plugin, at least for our Ham radio operations. Originally it wasn’t used with HSMM-Mesh until version 0.4.0. Until I fixed the plugin in olsrd v0.6.2 nodes of differing byte-sex (big vs little endian) could not mesh together. Even with the secure plugin being fixed meshed nodes can still connect (directly, not through the mesh) with non-mesh nodes via http, ssh, telnet, whatever protocol you want, this required the numeric IP address of the non-meshed node. It’s only the OLSR packets that are signed. Adding routes and host names by hand would probably allow connections through the mesh to non-mesh nodes.

  6. I was very interested in your project, the past 2 days i got 2 pi’s setup and installed. This evening i configured one as a wan, one as a lan, so i could see them in action. They refused to see each other. I matched the network info assigning 10.x.y.211 and 10.x.7.212 for them, same channel, same name.. They both kept telling me they were alone. Until I checked OLSRD and rebooted them. Then they mysteriously found each other. Network up, speed test shows great bandwidth..Love it, actually connected through them now. However, i was under the impression that the OLSRD was to secure the connection, not required to let them see each other. Wondering if you had any insight into the situation. I can provide any info you need, Ideas?

  7. Running HSMM-Pi and was surprised that when connected to a Linksys WRT54 series router running 0.4.3 it does not show up as a neighbouring node and OLSR status remains blank even though I am connected to it.

  8. The secure plugin really doesn’t do much in terms of “securing” the mesh. It’s merely a secret handshake that lets your node into the “club”, so to speak. It does NOT keep a mesh node from communicating from another (say via ‘telnet’, ‘http’, ping, etc) if you have the non-secure node’s IP address, and vice versa.

  9. Mike, are you sure your wifi on the pi is up and running? If you do an ifconfig do you see packets being sent/received on wlan0? When you say connected to the router, do you mean the pi is connected to the router? Give me a few more details and I will see if I can help!

    • Hi Drew, thanks for the reply. Yes. I can connect to my WRT-54 which is running 0.4.3 HSMM-MESH firmware but the Pi doesn’t appear in it’s node list, and the OLSR option is still grayed out. Is HSMM-Pi compatible with v 0.4.3 or 1.0.0?

  10. HSMM-PI works right out of the box with ver 0.4.3, and will work with 1.0 as well if you just change the SSID on the pi to the new standard, which is “BroadbandHamnet-v1”. I don’t really understand how you could have connectivity and yet not see each other unless the SSID was wrong, but then you should not be able to connect!

    Do a couple commands and show us the output just to see what’s up…

    ifconfig

    iwconfig

    iwlist wlan0 scan

    Drew

  11. Hi Drew,
    Can you help? HSMM-Pi is a great idea, if I could only get it to work. I also have a WRT54GL node with SSID set to HSMM-MESH to match HSMM-Pi.
    For me, just saving from the Admin page wipes out wlan0. Saving anything, just the call sign for example. So I can’t get past the initial Save.
    Upon reboot, I see this:
    Error opening ‘ /dev/input/event* ‘ : no such file or directory
    Restarting interface: wlan0
    Ifdown: interface wlan0 not configured

  12. Sorry (tabbed to post inadvertently), is there a discussion site? Maybe we should set up a Google+ community for community help and discussion?
    I did what you suggested for Mike above. Here’s my information: http://goo.gl/pZkgLL

    My email is k6dpy(at)yahoo.com.

    Thanks!

  13. Any further updates on this? I’ve just got HSMM-Pi running with the Realtek 8818 (IIRC) dongle using the URLGrey script and Im just starting my search to resolve a few issues.

    Initially I could not see any of the nodes, but when I changed the SSID to BroadbandHamnet_v1, I was able to see all 6 of the Broadband Hamnet nodes using the WRT54G units we were testing. However, their node names were their IP addresses — not their callsign. I could view their config screens and on one unit with IRC set up, I could chat, but I could not access the one with the internet gateway. Where to from here?

    • Hi Bill,

      Exactly the same experience here too. It’s almost as if there is no domain name resolution once connected. We had a small group keen on HSMM, but we’ve pretty much hit a roadblock, and until this issue is resolved, we can’t move forward.
      73 de Mike

Leave a Reply

